Category Archives: Opposition Research

Posts on the USWNT’s upcoming opponents, its key rivals (Brazil, Germany, Japan, and Sweden), its neighbors (Canada and Mexico). For posts about youth WNT opponents, please see the Under-xx category.

News of Note: December 15, 2012: Mexico Defeats Brazil, USWNT May Host Scotland in February, 2015 WWC Logo Unveiled

News of Note: Final match of the Fan Tribute Series is tonightName and logo for the new women’s pro league to be revealed tonight… Mexico defeats Brazil in Brazil… Portland’s franchise will be named “Portland Thorns FC”… 2015 Women’s World Cup Canada Official Emblem unveiled… USWNT to host Scotland in February… 2013 Algarve Cup groups mostly confirmed… Continue reading


News of Note: December 10, 2012 – USWNT/China Highlights, Christine Sinclair wins Canada’s Lou Marsh Trophy, U.S. Soccer Applies to Trademark ‘USWNT’ and ‘USMNT’

News of Note: Video highlights of the December 8th USWNT/China match… Christine Sinclair wins the 2012 Lou Marsh Trophy… U.S. Soccer has applied to trademark “USWNT” and “USMNT”… Brazil defeats Portugal 4:0… Denmark blanks Mexico 5:0. Continue reading

News of Note: December 7th, 2012 – FIFA Women’s Rankings, Christen Press Now Linked with Tyresö, Women’s EURO Kick-Off Times Finalized

News of Note: FIFA Women’s Rankings, December Update… Christen Press now linked with Tyresö… Kick-off times for the 2013 Women’s EURO finalized… MAC Hermann Trophy finalists announced… And, if you missed it on Thursday: Norway brings back Even Pellerud. Continue reading

Norway: The New Head Coach is… Even Pellerud?

On Thursday, Norway’s Football Federation (NFF) announced that it has hired 59 year-old Even Pellerud as the new head coach of its Women’s National Team. This will mark his second stint as head coach of his native country’s WNT, having served in that position from 1989 to 1996, where he led the team to a Women’s World Cup trophy in 1995. Pellerud was also the head coach of two other women’s national teams: Canada, from late 1999 through the 2008 Olympics, and most recently, Trinidad and Tobago. Continue reading

Canada: December 2012 Camp Roster – Youth Movement Gets An Early Start

On Tuesday, Canada Soccer released head coach John Herdman’s roster of 27 players for the Canada Women’s National Team’s final camp of 2012* — and first of 2015 Women’s World Cup cycle. The roster contains twelve players born after 1990, including  five from Canada’s most recent Under-20 WNT and four more from its Under-17 WNT, along with three other players born after 1990. Only twelve members of Canada’s Bronze Medal winning Olympic team have been called up, as the players on that team who played overseas or in college were given the camp off. The training camp will last nine days and run from Wednesday, December 12th to the 20th (a Thursday). Its main purposes, according to Herdman will be to “provide baseline testing as well as serve as an identification camp as we launch our new quadrennial cycle in 2013.” Continue reading

Mexico: Roster For 2012 City of São Paulo Tournament Includes Sofia Huerta and Two Under-17 Players

Mexico’s head coach, Leonardo Cuellar, has called up 21 players for the upcoming City of São Paulo International Tournament (Torneio Internacional Cidade de São Paulo), including a first-time invite for Under-20 standout forward Sofia Huerta of Santa Clara University, which caps off a whirlwind year for Huerta.  Of the 21 players called up, besides Huerta, five other currently attend American universities: Renae Cuellar, Oklahoma; Alina Garciamendez, Stanford; Anisa Gujardo, Pepperdine; Arianna Romero, Nebraska; and Bianca Sierra, Auburn. From Mexico’s U-17 Women’s National Team, two players have been invited into the senior camp: captain Karla Nieto, and midfielder Paulina Solis, who is only 16 years-old (1996 birthday). Also among the twenty one is 2011 MAC Hermann Trophy winner Teresa Noyola. Continue reading

News of Note: December 4, 2012 – Morgan and Johnston Win Player of the Year Honors, 2013 Cyprus Cup Field Set

News of Note: U.S. Soccer Female Athlete of the Year Awards… The USWNT’s December 15th Match Will Be Televised… North Carolina Wins Its 22nd National Title… Twelve Teams To Compete in the 2013 Cyprus Cup. Continue reading